top of page
  • Writer's pictureMCHAP

MCHAP 2022 Jury and Nominated Projects Announced

The Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize (MCHAP) is proud to announce its jury chaired by Sandra Barclay of Barclay and Crousse Architecture along with over 250 nominated built works in North and South America for consideration in the 2022 prize cycle. There are over 200 works nominated for MCHAP 2022 and over 50 projects for MCHAP.emerge 2022 nominated by an anonymous network of international experts and professionals.

The MCHAP 2022 jury is composed of Jury Chair Sandra Barclay (Lima, Peru), Founding Partner of Barclay & Crousse Architecture and Professor at Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú; Mónica Bertolino (Córdoba, Argentina), Owner of Estudio Bertolino-Barrado and Professor at the School of Architecture, Urbanism, and Design at Córdoba National University; Alejandro Echeverri (Medellin, Colombia), Director of URBAM Centro de Estudios Urbanos y Ambientales, Owner of Alejandro Echeverri + Valencia Architects, and Distinguished Professor at TEC de Monterrey; Julie Eizenberg, FAIA (Santa Monica, USA), Founding Principal of Koenig Eizenberg Architects; Philip Kafka (Detroit, USA), President of Prince Concepts; and MCHAP Director Dirk Denison (Chicago, USA), Professor at the Illinois Institute of Technology College of Architecture, ex officio.

“MCHAP recognizes the architectural quality and the complicity between architects and communities, institutions, or individuals at the origin of each project,” says Barclay, “Its importance echoes beyond the Americas, showcasing our continent's best Architecture, and is essential within it, as it encourages these virtuous collaborations to multiply.”

MCHAP 2022

The fourth prize cycle considers built works completed in the Americas between January 2018 to June 2021. The MCHAP Prize for Emerging Practice is a corresponding acknowledgment of the best built work in the Americas authored by a practice in its first ten years of operation. The fourth-cycle Prize for MCHAP.emerge symposium and award ceremony will be held in fall 2022, while the MCHAP symposium and award ceremony will take place in spring 2023. Both events will bring nominated architects, their teams and clients, and students and faculty into conversation at S. R. Crown Hall.

Restrictions brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic forced a two-year suspension of the biennial prize, but created an opportunity to assess its impact and reaffirm its agenda: to learn from architectural excellence that enriches lives. For this cycle jury criteria have been refined, and include consideration of how projects integrate natural, built, and human ecologies; create safe and new public spaces; engage communities as agents of change; use local workforces and materials; improve life in challenged communities; and more. The prize’s territory, the thirty-five countries of the Americas, includes a range of diverse, dynamic conditions that architecture must engage today. “MCHAP reinforces a unique North–South axis that creates potential for urgently needed cross-cultural learning at a moment of global change and crisis,” Denison said.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page