top of page
  • Writer's pictureMCHAP

MCHAP 2018 Winner Announced

The Illinois Institute of Technology College of Architecture Dean Michelangelo Sabatino and Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize 2018 Jury President Ricky Burdett CBE, and MCHAP Director Dirk Denison recognizes Edificio E, Universidad de Piura by Barclay & Crousse Architecture as the winners of the MCHAP 2018 cycle at the MCHAP 2018 Symposium and Award Dinner at S. R. Crown Hall on October 10th, 2018. The project is recognized as the most distinguished built architectural project between the North and South Americas. 


Sandra Barclay and Jean Pierre Crousse of the Lima-based Barclay & Crousse Architecture, the designers of Edificio E, will receive $50,000 in funding toward research and the development of a publication as well as the MCHAP Chair of Architecture at IIT.

“The jury recognized how the deceptive simplicity and modesty of Edificio E conceals and reveals a building of unexpected complexity, intensity and richness,” says Burdett. “Responding to the harshness of the sun and extreme dry heat of the savannah landscape of northern Peru, the design creates a dense inner world of unexpected softness and openness shrouded by porous concrete screens.” - Ricky Burdett CBE

Finalist Projects:

IMS Paulista

Andrade Morettin Arquitetos Associados

São Paulo, Brazil

Edificio E, University of Piura

Barclay & Crousse Architecture

Piura, Peru

SESC 24 de Maio

Paulo Mendes da Rocha and MMBB Arquitetos

São Paulo, Brazil

Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

Freelon Adjaye Bond / Smith Group

Washington, DC, USA

Teopanzolco Cultural Center

PRODUCTORA and Isaac Broid

Cuernavaca, Mexico

True North

Edwin Chan / EC3

Detroit, USA


JURY 2018

Ricky Burdett CBE President of the Jury, Professor of Urban Studies, London School of Economics, and Director of LSE Cities and the Urban Age Programme Jose Castillo Principal, Arquitectura 911sc, Mexico City Ron Henderson

Professor at the Illinois Institute of Technology and Director of the Master of Landscape Architecitecture and Urbanism

Rodrigo Pérez de Arce

Professor, Facultad de Arquitectura, Diseño y Estudios Urbanos, Pontificia Universidad Católica, Chile

Claire Weisz Founding Principal, WXY, New York

MCHAP is a biennial prize that acknowledges the best built works of architecture in the Americas. MCHAP.emerge is the corresponding biennial prize for the best built work from an emerging architecture practice. MCHAP was created by Dean Wiel Arets who, in his 2013 inaugural address, offered “Rethinking Metropolis” as a strategic device for the college, for research, for the development of knowledge and skills, for taking part in design exercises, for debate, and for making. Dean Arets outlined his plan for a revitalized curriculum in NOWNESS, a publication in which he announced MCHAP among other initiatives. MCHAP was officially launched in February 2014 at an event hosted by Phyllis Lambert at the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montreal and which featured Kenneth Frampton, President of the inaugural MCHAP Jury.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page