top of page
  • Writer's pictureMCHAP

MCHAP 2016 Winner Announced

Illinois Institute of Technology College of Architecture Dean Wiel Arets, Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize (MCHAP) 2014-15 Jury President Stan Allen, and MCHAP Director Dirk Denison announced the MCHAP 2014-15 Winner, Grace Farms, New Canaan, Connecticut by SANAA, at the 19 October 2016 MCHAP Symposium and Award Dinner at S. R. Crown Hall, the home of IIT Architecture. 

Kazuko Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, founders of the Pritzker-winning architecture firm SANAA, were recognized with the MCHAP Award, the MCHAP Chair at IIT Architecture Chicago for the following academic year, and $50,000 in funding toward research and publication.

The MCHAP Jury presented the finalists for the MCHAP 2014/15 at the MCHAP Symposium and Award Dinner on October 19, 2016, recognizing the best built works of architecture in the Americas realized from January 2014 through December 2015.

Finalists Projects and Cities

Mexico City, Mexico Tower 41 by Alberto Kalach

Los Angeles, California, US Star Apartments by Michael Maltzan

New Canaan, Connecticut, US Grace Farms by SANAA

MCHAP is a biennial prize that acknowledges the best built works of architecture in the Americas. MCHAP.emerge is the corresponding biennial prize for the best built work from an emerging architecture practice. MCHAP was created by Dean Wiel Arets who, in his 2013 inaugural address, offered “Rethinking Metropolis” as a strategic device for the college, for research, for the development of knowledge and skills, for taking part in design exercises, for debate, and for making. Dean Arets outlined his plan for a revitalized curriculum in NOWNESS, a publication in which he announced MCHAP among other initiatives. MCHAP was officially launched in February 2014 at an event hosted by Phyllis Lambert at the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montreal and which featured Kenneth Frampton, President of the inaugural MCHAP Jury.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page