top of page
  • Writer's pictureMCHAP

Inaugural MCHAP Awards Announced

Jacques Herzog, Wiel Arets, and Alvaro Siza at MCHAP ceremony.

Kenneth Frampton, MCHAP (Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize) Jury President, announced the inaugural winners of MCHAP2000-2008 and MCHAP2009-2013 at a benefit award dinner honoring the seven finalists held at S. R. Crown Hall on the campus of Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) in Chicago last night. More than 300 people attended the ceremony, including representatives of the finalists’ architects and clients and featuring Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel. The authors of the two winning projects honoring the best built works in the Americas will each be recognized with the MCHAP Award, the MCHAP Chair at IIT College of Architecture for the following academic year and funding of $50,000 USD, in support of research and a publication related to the theme of ‘Rethinking Metropolis.’

Iberê Camargo Foundation in Porto Alegre, Brazil, by Álvaro Siza was named MCHAP 2014 winner. Representing the project at the award benefit dinner were architects Álvaro Siza of Álvaro Siza Arquitecto and Jose Luiz Canal.



Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page